Biographies of celebrities

Emem Isong Biography

Emem Isong Misodi
Emem Isong Misodi

Full Name/Real Name: Emem Isong Misodi

Date of Birth: 5 September

State of Origin : Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria.

School Attended : University of Calabar, Computer Science Institute (NCR)

Occupation: writer, producer and film distributor

Year Active: 1994 – present

Early, Educational, Family and Career Life

Emem Isong Misodi (born on ) 5 Septemberis a Nigerian screenwriter, film producer, and director. She’s the first child in her family of 4 children and hails from Ikono Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria. She obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in Theater Arts from the University of Calabar. She also obtained a diploma in computer science from the Computer Science Institute (NCR). She has become known primarily for films in the English language, and is a dominant figure in that industry. Her second directed feature, Code of Silence, which deals with rape in Nigeria, was released in 2015.

Her career in film-making started in 1994 when she wrote the script and co-produced the movie “Jezebel”. First solo production was for the movie Breaking Point (1996). She then went on to work with Remmy Jez for eight years as a producer on his movies. This relationship lasted till 2008 when she decided to end their working relationship. It was at this time that she co-produced the movie Reloaded (2008).

She has written or produced for films such as Reloaded, Breaking Point, She Devil, A Minute To Midnight, Play Boy, Private Sin, Master Stroke, Rumours, Shattered Illusion, and Promise Me Forever and Emotional Crack (2003) (screenplay), the latter of which was screened at the African Film Festival in New York City. She has also become known primarily for Yoruba language pictures and is a dominant figure in that industry.

The movies Emem Isong has produced are also noteworthy for being the launching grounds for various Nollywood talents including Stephanie Okereke, Dakore Egbuson among others.

In 2014 she directed her first feature film – Champagne, which had its premiere at the Silverbird Galleria in Victoria Island, Lagos. In August 2015 she released the film Code of Silence, her second directed feature film which she also produced, working with the Royal Arts Academy and Nollywood Workshop, an international NGO that aims to encourage change in the society through the use of movies. The film, which deals with rape in Nigeria, stars Makida Moka, Patience Ozokwor, Ini Edo, and Omoni Oboli.

 Emem Isong’s expertise in the movie industry has also allowed her to be chosen as a speaker in the Afrinolly masterclass series and also as a judge for the MTN Afrinolly short film completion in 2013. In her movies Emem Isong thrills her audience.

Emem Isong has received several prestigious awards which includes:

ZAFAA Awards, in the category of Best Producer for the movie Memories of my Heart (2010)
Wow Divas, Outstanding Contribution to Raising Awareness, Understanding and Hope to those Affected by Autism Spectrum Disorder and Advocating for them through her movie Silver Lining(2012)
Eloy Awards, Best Movie Producer of the Year for I’ll Take My Chances (2011)
Best of Nollywood, Special Recognition Award;
Ntanla Awards, Industry Merit Awards.
Nigeria’s Integrity Film Awards(HomeVida) in the category Family/Child Friendly Category for the movie Knocking on the Heavens Door (2014)Africa Movie Awards in the category of Best Scriptwriter for the movie Reloaded (2008)
City Peoples Award in the categories of Best Producer of the Year, and Best Screenplay for the movie Reloaded (2008)

Movies Produced

  • Ayamma 2016
  • Don’t Cry For Me 2015
  • Apaye 2014
  • Knocking on Heaven’s Door 2014
  • Forgetting June 2013
  • Silver Lining 2012
  • I’ll Take My Chances 2011
  • Kiss and Tell 2010
  • Bursting Out 2010
  • Holding Hope 2010
  • Memories of War 2010
  • Edikan 2009
  • Reloaded 2008
  • A Time To Love 2007
  • Unfinished Business 2007
  • Yahoo Millionaire 2007
  • Games Men Play 2006
  • Traumatised 2006
  • Behind Closed Doors 2005
  • Darkest Night 2005
  • Endless Lies 2005
  • Games Women Play 2005
  • Girls in the Hood 2005
  • I Feel U 2005
  • Men Do Cry 2005
  • Critical Decision 2004
  • For Real 2004
  • Masterstroke 2004
  • Promise Me Forever 2004
  • Private Sin 2003
  • Breaking Point 1996
  • Jezebel 1994
  • Movies Written
  • I’ll Take My Chances 2011
  • Bursting Out 2008
  • Heartbeats 2008
  • Reloaded 2008
  • A Time to Love 2007
  • Unfinished Business 2007
  • Yahoo Millionaire 2007
  • Games Men Play 2006
  • Blind Obsession 2005
  • Darkest Night 2005
  • Fragile Pain 2005
  • I Feel U 2005
  • Enslaved 2004
  • Promise Me Forever 2004
  • Emotional Crack 2003
  • Jezebel 1994
  • Movies Directed
  • Champagne 2014
  • Code of Silence 2015

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button